Howdy, Stranger!
It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!
Categories
- All Discussions27,070
- Orphaned Marques
- ↳ Hudson21,138
- ↳ Street Rods807
- ↳ Off Topic574
- ↳ American Motors149
- ↳ Kaiser - Frazer70
- ↳ Nash70
- ↳ Packard163
- ↳ Studebaker122
- Classic American Cars
- ↳ Ford Motor Company956
- ↳ Chrysler Corporation477
- ↳ GM Corporation1,396
- ↳ Post War Chevrolets75
- ↳ Pontiac Forum119
- General
- ↳ All makes1,961
- ↳ Poll Discussions24
- Swapmeets & Events
- ↳ Events130
- ↳ Swapmeets108
- Hot Rod Corner
- ↳ Ford Rods90
- ↳ Lead Sleds67
- Special Interest Groups
- ↳ The Flathead Forum139
- European marques
- ↳ MG Car Company2
- ↳ Mercedes-Benz2
In this Discussion
- 46HudsonPU October 2009
- 51hornetA October 2009
- 66patrick66 October 2009
- Browniepetersen October 2009
- bull islander October 2009
- Dave53-7C October 2009
- harry54 October 2009
- hudsontech October 2009
- Jon B October 2009
- nick s October 2009
- Park_W October 2009
- Rarerodder October 2009
- RL Chilton October 2009
- silverone October 2009
- Swampy Meadows October 2009
- walt norem October 2009
What a deal on a Convertible
-
For some reason my scam alarm is screaming. Anyone else think this is kosher?:eek:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Other-Makes-1953-Hudson-Hornet-Twin-H-Convertible_W0QQitemZ150383562714QQcmdZViewItemQQptZUS_Cars_Trucks?hash=item23038f0fda#ht_500wt_1182www.hudsonmotorcar.org -
No reserve and only a 3 day auction. If it's not a scam, the seller is taking a big risk. It'll be sold before most people even know it's available.
-
Not a lot of information, only one photo, low starting price, no reserve? Either a Hudson lover's dream - or a nightmare! Hmmm...
-
And now it's been removed. Hmmmmm.
-
Park W wrote:And now it's been removed. Hmmmmm.
Just took a look at that, as well. My thoughts exactly. Hmmmmm. -
I would say that removing it was a good move. Perhaps the owner is a bit new to the process and was not giving himself ample time to make the deal.Brownie
-
Browniepetersen wrote:
If the seller had removed it voluntarily, it would still show up. This was removed by eBay, either for listing violations, or because it was not an 'honest' sale - most likely a hijacked account...I would say that removing it was a good move. Perhaps the owner is a bit new to the process and was not giving himself ample time to make the deal.
I placed a bid on this auction, just to keep track of it - It has disappeared from 'My eBay', and since it has been cancelled, I should get a notification from eBay concerning it sometime soon. -
Looked to me to be identical to that convertible that was for sale on ebay legit some months ago. That one had painted wire wheels as well.
Only one pic and no reserve made me go hmmmm...www.hudsonmotorcar.org -
www.hudsonmotorcar.org
-
This car seems like an ebay trap... beware...
-
No info, one picture, and just a yahoo email address for contact...
SCAM!!!"The time has come", the Walrus said, "to speak of many things. Of shoes and ships and sealing wax, of cabbages and kings. And why the sea is boiling hot,
And whether pigs have wings..." -
Within reason, it is probably safe - as long as the buyer is sensible/smart about it...
Is there any HET club members in the Great Neck, NY area? If so, they may be able to confirm the presence of the car, and do an onsite inspection of it. Were it me, I would not send a penny without at least having the car verified and inspected by an independent authority or HET Club Member - and then it would be a COD (cash on delivery).
When corresponding, do not send 'outside' emails or the phone for any eBay auction (unless you've done business with the seller before) - If the seller posts an email or phone number in an auction, I will not use it for any contact. Utilizing eBay's communication provides the buyer, seller, and eBay security with the necessary documentation to support any necessary actions/claims... -
Can any of our computer sleuths do anything with this info? :confused:
http://www.lookupemailaddresses.com/results/reverse.php?email=medicalljewelry@yahoo.com -
Dave53-7C wrote:
Think this 'lookup' site is BS... I got the same results for EVERY email address I typed-in, even for a false/invalid email address that I made up!Can any of our computer sleuths do anything with this info? :confused:
http://www.lookupemailaddresses.com/results/reverse.php?email=medicalljewelry@yahoo.com -
51hornetA wrote:
And its gone again...:rolleyes: -
Anyone seriously interested in bidding could contact Charlie Salvato in Holbrook, NY, he's in the National Roster. He's well-versed in Hudsons. Great Neck is about 37 miles away.
-
Reason I am skeptical is this car is the identical car that was offered on ebay some months ago by another owner he never sold so I doubt this guy has it and is selling it for no reserve.www.hudsonmotorcar.org
-
-
51hornetA wrote:
Not at that address, it isn't.
Hudsonly,
Alex Burr
Memphis, TN -
hudsontech wrote:
Here it is - at least at this moment...Not at that address, it isn't.
Hudsonly,
Alex Burr
Memphis, TN
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Other-Makes-Twin-H-1953-Hudson-Hornet-Twin-H-Convertible_W0QQitemZ150384470965QQcmdZViewItemQQptZUS_Cars_Trucks?hash=item23039cebb5 -
I suppose one way to determine if this is a scam, is to send the seller an inquiry about things that only the true owner would know, such as the serial number, former owner, etc. Or, ask arcane, "only a Hudson owner would know" questions. Or trip-up questions ("Does it have the Flash-O-Matic, or the Vacumotive automatic transmission?").
-
Wow now its for sale under a different ID. What the heck is up with that.www.hudsonmotorcar.org
-
Gentlemen,...it's...a...SCAM.
I did email him a question with my junk mail email addy, and to no surprise, he did not answer back. Scam."The time has come", the Walrus said, "to speak of many things. Of shoes and ships and sealing wax, of cabbages and kings. And why the sea is boiling hot,
And whether pigs have wings..." -
Posting it under two different ID's days apart does not bode well.www.hudsonmotorcar.org
-
66patrick66 wrote:
Yea, I did the same earlier today... No doubt that it is a scam, the only question is how long will it be, before eBay pulls it?Gentlemen,...it's...a...SCAM.
I did email him a question with my junk mail email addy, and to no surprise, he did not answer back. Scam.
If eBay were REALLY concerned, they would pursue and prosecute these folks... -
fee-gay wants the $$$, and couldn't care less about doing the right thing.
OK, everyone sing together now (inn your best Monty Python voices)..."Scam, scam, scam, scam Scam, scam, scam, scam Scammity scam, that wonderful scam!"
"The time has come", the Walrus said, "to speak of many things. Of shoes and ships and sealing wax, of cabbages and kings. And why the sea is boiling hot,
And whether pigs have wings..." -
Just putting the picture on here so it's available for reference when someone is thinking they've seen it before. 1953 Hudson convertible.
-
It has nine bids and is at 26K. Someone is taking it serious?Brownie
-
Browniepetersen wrote:It has nine bids and is at 26K. Someone is taking it serious?
Gone again -- at least I can't find it now.
I thought this one apparently sold for $100,100.00 on ebay some time ago. Same seller had a '53 Packard Carribean for sale I think around that time too.
Maybe that sale was a scam too ? Hard to believe if someone paid a hundred grand for a car, he'd sell it for 26 !! ( no reserve ).
Maybe he was just testing the market, or the novelty wore off, and he'd rather have the hundred grand now. -
"Maybe he was just testing the market, or the novelty wore off, and he'd rather have the hundred grand now."
My thoughts, exactly! -
It's like watching professional wrestling-you know it's fake but you watch wishing it was real
-
As indicated, it looks like it disappeared...
-
I am waiting to see if it comes back a third time under another account. All these accounts are low transaction. You know they set them up sell a few small items to get ready for the bigger scam. eBay needs to clamp down but they don't as they could care less as long as you are posting and paying the fees.www.hudsonmotorcar.org




